Directorate: Enterprise Geospatial Information Management (EGIM)

Our objectives / purpose:

  • To provide a one-stop portal/entry point for Environmental Geospatial data and products, maintained and updated by the DEA as per strategic responsibilities;
  • Provide Geo-referenced environmental data sets for projects with a specific focus and for which DEA act as custodian;
  • To create map services/viewers and make them publicly available.
  • To provide this services to the Department’s national and international environmental and sustainable development mandates.

 

Support:

Area of Support E-mail
PACA Queries PACA-Queries@environment.gov.za
Oceans and Coast Queries GISOC@environment.gov.za
DEA GIS Day GISday@environment.gov.za
E-GIS Website support EGIS@environment.gov.za

 

Meet the EGIM Team:

Name Designation GIS Functions Landline E-Mail
Marlanie Moodley Director: EGIM GIS Dir. Enterprise Geospatial Info. Management; Map Services 012 399 8916 MMoodley@environment.gov.za
Deon Marais Chief GIS Professional GIS Systems Management and ArcGIS Software 012 399 9295 Dmarais@environment.gov.za
Dr Rudi Pretorius Chief GIS Professional GIS Screening Tool; Online Map Services 012 399 9299 Rpretorius@environment.gov.za
Lisa Pretorius Architect Production GIS Systems; EGIS website 012 399 9301 Lpretorius2@environment.gov.za
Cecily vd Berg
GIS Professional
GIS Cartography; GIS Day and Forum
012 399 8849 CVDBerg2@environment.gov.za
Lenette Tshikovhi
Control GIS Technician
Data Distribution;
SAPAD
012 339 9298 LTshikovhi@environment.gov.za
Kabelo Mhlanga
GIS Technician
Data Maintenance;
Renewable Energy
012 339 9297 KMhlanga@environment.gov.za
Christopher Thela
GIS Technician Data Maintenance; GIS Software 012 339 9296 CThela@environment.gov.za